Netgear R8500: Port Aggregation / Bonding?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Balamut
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 13:11    Post subject: Netgear R8500: Port Aggregation / Bonding? Reply with quote
I've flashed Kong's recent dd-wrt build and found no way to configure port aggregation / bonding on LAN ports 1-2.

I've tried to configure it on Setup -> Networking -> Bonding but failed. It does not work (or I did it wrong way).

The aggregation worked well on stock netgear firmware.

Can anyone point me to the good manual for bonding/aggreagtion in dd-wrt? Thank you!
Sponsor
MDA400
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2015
Posts: 240
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 0:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is the link for types of bonding/aggregation in DD-WRT, although it doesnt show you how to configure it.

My guess would be to try going to the VLANs tab first (by networking) and changing ports 1 and 2 to their own VLAN (vlan 3 for example) and make sure to set that vlan to the 'LAN' bridge to the most right of the table (so everything can still communicate).

This is so the aggregation you're trying to enable doesn't affect the rest of the LAN ports when choosing the bonding interface under networking.

Now you should be able to add a bonding interface (balance-rr or 802.3ad for normal cases unless you need a specific type from the link above) and apply the VLAN you made on the VLAN tab to that bond (Make sure you apply settings after every step. I could see where if you added a bond but didnt apply, then it wouldnt enable).

_________________
LATEST DD-WRT FW IS LOCATED HERE: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1383

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
MDA400, the R8500 is a special case as it has 6 ethernet ports.

Under stock firmware ports 1&2 are designated for aggregation.

In DD-WRT ports 3&4 are hard coded for aggregation.

Balamut, I would enable the click box for 3&4 and give it a try.

Ports 5&6 are working but, are not shown in DD-WRT.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
Balamut
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 6:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
MDA400, thank you very much for your explanation!

I’ve tried almost the same method (see attached shots) and unfortunately it does not work. I’ve also tried to implement it exactly as you suggested – still no success Sad The NAS connected to the ports 1 and 2 keep working well, but with NO aggregation.

Here are my settings on VLAN and Network tabs:

PS: Please, note that I was unable to change the "Assigned to the bridge" setting for the vlan3 and vlan4 to LAN. After changing this box to LAN, saving and reboot, those fields always reverts to the default value "none".

PPS: ddaniel51, I've also tried to set this switch to Trunk and reconnect NAS to ports 3-4 - no success Sad



aggr_network_01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  49.78 KB
 Viewed:  13631 Time(s)

aggr_network_01.png



aggr_vlan_01.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  13.32 KB
 Viewed:  13631 Time(s)

aggr_vlan_01.png


Balamut
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 6:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've investigated it more with google and found that at this moment no one have success with aggrigation/bonding on dd-wrt Sad Looks like this feature is not yet implemented or has some serious issues and needs additional testing.

So, if developers can read this - I would happy to help with implementing this func and testing it on R8500!
RobrPatty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 17:56    Post subject: Netgear R8500 Reply with quote
Is there a stable dd-wrt firmware for this router?
Netgear R8500
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1383

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong's 19 April 2016 29440 build is working ok.
_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP BS
Test Bed R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN
Wired AP 2 R9000 1Gb LAN
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN
Test Bed R7800 1Gb LAN OpenWRT Kong
download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/ (Brain Slayer)
www.desipro.de/openwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-
www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php


Last edited by ddaniel51 on Tue Jun 07, 2016 19:39; edited 2 times in total
RobrPatty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply ddaniel51. Got it and have router upgraded.
Lawn Dart
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 16:00    Post subject: Link Aggregation Ports 1 & 2 - R8500 Reply with quote
Does anyone know if this has been fixed/addressed? I've been holding off on the switch from stock to DD-WRT due to this situation.

Thanks in advance.
Balamut
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK, nope Crying or Very sad Even in the latest builds it does not work.
usmcguy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has there been any progress on this? Does anyone know if it is working?
CharlieBoy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same question. Anyone knows if Kong’s mod is doing ports 1 & 2 aggregation yet?
_________________
Charlie Boy (Houston, TX)
--
XFinity 250 Up/30 Down Service
|_Netgear C7000 (Stock) as Router/Modem
|_Netgear R8500 (DD-WRT) as Gateway/AP
|_Netgear ReadyNAS 314 Plex Server
burci
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 22:25    Post subject: Worked on this all day: No luck Reply with quote
I worked on trying to get this to work all day. Not having any luck. giving up for now. I'm hoping someone else may get this working and post some instructions on how to get it to work. I can't see ports 5 & 6 on the VLAN tab and can't get the port aggregation working either. Thank to anyone who posts some suggestions.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum