Change DHCP range to 10.0.0.*?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
wear
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 23:15    Post subject: Change DHCP range to 10.0.0.*? Reply with quote
Is it possible to change the standard DHCP range from 192.168.1.* to 10.0.0.* ? And let the router have adress 10.0.0.1?
Sponsor
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 23:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes. When you change the IP address of the router and apply the settings, the DHCP server will use an IP address range that the router is configured for.
_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
wear
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
Yes. When you change the IP address of the router and apply the settings, the DHCP server will use an IP address range that the router is configured for.
Great!
Thanks for the fast reply :-)

I personally think it's much easier to write 10.0.0. than 192.168.1. Yes I am lazy :-p
ugi93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:52    Post subject: Extending IP range Reply with quote
Hello people! My name is Ugljesa, and I'm new here on the forums! Smile

So, my first question is very similar to this topic, so I didn't open a new one. Smile Is it possible to extend the DHCP IP pool, and thus increase number of DHCP clients? Currently, I've set my router to assign IP addresses in the range from 10.0.0.1 to 10.0.0.253, and router is at 10.0.0.254. Can the local IP range be extended, so the DHCP can assign addresses from e.g. 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255?

Thank you!
GreyDoc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 13:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, set Subnet Mask to 255.0.0.0
ugi93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
GreyDoc wrote:
yes, set Subnet Mask to 255.0.0.0


Hello, thanks for help! Smile I've changed the subnet to one you suggested, but it seems to me that the router is still assigning only 253 addresses (from 10.0.0.1 to 10.0.0.253) even if I changed the subnet. And, in the DHCP settings it doesn't allow me to set max clients more than 253. Any ideas, or I am getting something wrong?
ugi93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
eibgrad wrote:
Not sure why the DHCP server (DNSMasq) would limit you to 253 hosts given that netmask, but perhaps it does have some internal limit of its own. Remember too, it has to store all that information in RAM, which is a limited resource in most routers. Or else it's just a bug.

I will add, using a netmask of 255.0.0.0 is ridiculous since it means a potential for 256^3 (16,777,216) hosts! Granted, nothing says you have to use all those hosts, but it could cause problems down the road.

For example, suppose you use a network search utility like nmap to enumerate all known devices on your local network. It will search, one by one, through 16 million IPs! Or consider what will happen if you decide to install an OpenVPN server. Since the OpenVPN client and OpenVPN server networks must be different and non-overlapping, every time you encounter a 10.x.x.x network on the road (and it will happen) and attempt to access your 10.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 network back home over the VPN, it won't work. You've created a home network that's so vast, it overlaps w/ every other subnet in the 10.x.x.x address space!

So if you need more than 254 usable hosts, just change the netmask slightly, say to 255.255.254.0 (/23), which will double your usable hosts to 510. That should be more than plenty for most ppl.


@eibgrad Yes, you're right, I'll listen your advice. Actually I don't need such a large pool at all, but I just wanted to try what the DHCP can do and play with it a bit. Smile
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5316
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK dd-wrt is still limited to 999 IP addresses.

Setting an IP/subnetmask with high range of hosts will usually work
but you will likely see conflicting info in GUI vs CLI dnsmasq.conf.

e.g. router IP 10.55.7.10/8 will have starting DHCP address as 10.0.0.1 regardless
of what starting IP you put in GUI (because 10.0.0.1 is the first address in that range)...
That range would be 10.0.0.1 - 10.255.255.254 (16,777,214 available hosts) .. it'll work using the first 999 IPs
but it's a bit confusing for dd-wrt software ...unless they have recently done some changes Wink
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum